Arsenal against Man City: Premier League’s biggest title deciders in history

Arsenal against Man City: Premier League’s biggest title deciders in history

The Premier League title showdown between Arsenal and Manchester City is scheduled for Wednesday at the Etihad Stadium, with the winner likely to be crowned champions later in the season.

After three consecutive draws, the Gunners’ eight-point lead has been reduced to four, and if Pep Guardiola’s men are effective against his mentor Mikel Arteta’s young challengers, they will be favorites to win the title for the fifth time in six seasons.

But how does this matchup compare to previous championship-deciding contests? Express Sport presents five decisive and memorable matches.

Man City vs. United, 1-0 (2011-12).
Forget the 94th-minute goal scored by Sergio Aguero against Queens Park Rangers and the premature celebrations at the Stadium of Light; this is where Manchester United lost the championship.

City’s deterioration under Robert Mancini gave United a three-point advantage headed into the final three matches, including a difficult match at the Etihad.

United only needed to avoid defeat to retain the championship, but Ferguson’s oddly defensive formation made it difficult for United to withstand City’s football, with Vincent Kompany scoring the game-winning goal in the first half.

As fate would have it, United did everything in their power to capture the championship after defeating Sunderland 2-0.

But City’s heroic recovery and this victory were the deciding factors in the 2011-12 title race.

Newcastle 0-1 Manchester United (1995-1996)
With a 12-point lead, many expected Newcastle to win the Premier League title in the season in which Kevin Keegan’s famous “I would love it” speech was conceived. However, Manchester United had different plans.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s side had narrowed the gap to four points by the time the two teams met at St. James’ Park after Keegan’s men had stumbled, and the Magpies were beginning to show signs of weakness as they pursued their first title in nearly seven decades.

Still, attempting to deny the brilliance of Eric Cantona proved too difficult for Newcastle as they fell by a single goal at home.

In the end, it wasn’t even close, as Newcastle were held to a draw by Tottenham, while United cruised to a victory over Middlesbrough to clinch the title with a four-point advantage, something few could have predicted at the beginning of the season.

Man Utd 0-1 Arsenal (1997-98)
Arsene Wenger’s Arsenal team has emerged as the new challenger to Sir Alex Ferguson’s dominant Manchester United squad.

The Gunners departed Old Trafford with three massive points after Marc Overmars scored the game-winning goal in the 79th minute, resulting in another one-goal thriller.

The advantage abruptly shifted to Wenger’s team, primarily because they had three games in hand and were only six points behind. United, meanwhile, was experiencing a collapse and ultimately lost by a single point.

Even though it was played a few weeks before the conclusion of the season, it proved pivotal as Arsenal won their first Premier League championship under Wenger.

Liverpool and Manchester City tied, 2021-22.
Man City will be aware that they have already defeated one opponent and will therefore believe they have the psychological advantage over Arsenal this time.

Last season, Jurgen Klopp’s Liverpool and Arteta’s team played to a 2-2 draw. If they want to overcome Arteta’s squad, they’ll need to go one better.

After Liverpool narrowed City’s 11-point lead in the final stages of the season, the champions were separated by only one point. Kevin de Bruyne and Gabriel Jesus scored for City, but they were brought back twice by Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane for the Reds.

That appeared to be the end of Liverpool’s prospects of unseating City, and indeed, both City and Liverpool have won six of their last seven games.

Pep Guardiola will want to prevent a repeat of the title-clinching comeback against Aston Villa on the final day of the season, which required a comeback from two goals down.

Man United 1, Chelsea 2 (2009).

How often did these two teams square off during the Mourinho-Ferguson era? Carlo Ancelotti relished his own battle with the legendary Scot and prevailed in this Old Trafford thriller after the Portuguese had left.

Chelsea was left attempting to catch a United team filled with talent, from Carlos Tevez to Nemanja Vidic, but with only one point separating them, everything was on the line.

Before Didier Drogba scored a second goal with a header, Joe Cole’s ingenious play gave the Blues the lead. Federico Macheda scored a goal for the home team, but it was too little, too late, as the Red Devils suffered a debilitating defeat.

United’s draw against Blackburn provided Ancelotti’s team with an opportunity to win the championship on the final day.

And they did so in devastating fashion, defeating Wigan 8-0 to register their largest Premier League victory and win both the Premier League and the FA Cup.

Arsenal against Man City: Premier League’s biggest title deciders in history